Author Rick Riordan – Percy Jackson is His Son

4 Feb

This story is inspiring. Kate Snow reports the inception of the Percy Jackson series, by Rick Riordan. His son was frustrated by his school experience, during which he was diagnosed as ADHD and dyslexic. Mr. Riordan turned his son’s diagnoses into superpowers while telling bedtime tales. Eventually, this bedtime fiction gave birth to an incredible series of books which have sold 30 million copies to date. Mr. Riordan identified an area of need (his son’s frustrations) and creatively sought a solution. Most impressive and heartening is his son’s reflection on his father’s problem solving and the effects he has experienced.  Enjoy!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

3 Responses to “Author Rick Riordan – Percy Jackson is His Son”

  1. Mary Lou Donahoe February 4, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    This is a true inspiring story. The power of love speaks volumes, in this case from a father to his son, but it can be applied to our profession as teachers. It reminded me of the importance to look at each one of my students as individuals, accept them with care and compassion and help them move forward. The importance of being creative, taking risks, try new teaching strategies, adjust previous lessons to reach today’s students and prepare them for their future. Thank you, Drew for sharing this incredible story with us.

    • Amanda Stark February 4, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

      Hi Mary Lou! I loved this story too. Whenever I face a challenging day working with my kiddos I always remind myself that they are someone’s baby.
      The same way I worry about my son and daughter, they (hopefully) have someone at home doing the same. I remind myself in tough moments…how would I like my own child treated?

      • Mary Lou Donahoe February 6, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

        You are absolutely correct Amanda. Our job is not much different than a doctor with good bedside manner. I was thinking about the video over the week-end. This father transformed his son’s ADHD and dyslexia into “special powers.: It is all in the approach. I guess Rick Riordan used 21st Century skills to reach his son. Meet each student at their level, giving them different tasks, reach their learning style (intelligence) so they fulfill their potential and flourish.

Leave a Reply

