Basic Addition | Addition and subtraction | Khan Academy

10 Apr

Would you show the video below to your students? How old should students be to use it effectively?

Students of many ages are using Khan Academy across the globe. The article below highlights a successful after school program created in the Dondero School in Portsmouth, NH–right in Hooksett’s backyard.

I encourage you to discover ways to use some of the thousands of videos stored in the Khan Academy’s database in your classroom or out.

Visit: http://www.khanacademy.org/ for more information.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Online lessons helping city students

Dondero School embraces Internet education service

By Joey Cresta
jcresta@seacoastonline.com
March 28, 2012 2:00 AM

PORTSMOUTH — Mary C. Dondero School third-grader Luke Bouchard is a skilled math student who, at times, finds lessons too easy. Thanks to an after-school enrichment program, that is no longer a problem.The School Board heard Tuesday night about the successes of Bouchard and other students who have participated in a pilot program using the online Khan Academy at Dondero.Khan Academy is a nonprofit organization that provides vast Web-based resources and lessons. According to its Web site, its mission is to change education for the better by providing a free, world-class education to anyone, anywhere.The site’s resources are free to use and include practice exercises and a library of 3,000 helpful videos, hints and assessments. It guides students from one concept to the next, individualizes lessons to a student’s skill level and tracks data for each student so teachers or parents can easily monitor his or her progress. Lessons include math, reading, history, biology and economics.Second-grade teacher Karen Dowling and parent volunteer Lance McMillan ran a seminar on Khan Academy at Tuesday night’s School Board meeting. The school is currently in its second semester of offering the twice-weekly after-school enrichment program, and Dowling said students are on a waiting list to join the sessions.”The enthusiasm and fun-loving spirit is just heartwarming,” she said.The Khan Academy program promotes learning by awarding successful students with virtual badges. McMillan took it a step further by creating physical pins that he gives the students.Nine-year-old Bouchard proudly displayed his collection of pins to School Board members.”Khan is very rewarding because it challenges my math and reading skills,” he said.His father, John Bouchard, called the program “phenomenal” and said it has provided his son with extra challenges needed to keep him engaged.About one-third of Dondero students in third through fifth grades have used Khan Academy. Considering the success stories, board members discussed how to integrate the program into classroom lessons.Access is part of the issue. Dondero’s computer lab has roughly 20 computers that Assistant Superintendent Steve Zadravec said are at the end of their useful life. They are due to be replaced this year, he said.Another problem is bandwidth capabilities. According to Dowling, when the lab fills up and students start using every computer, there is significant lag.The School Board has recently discussed a desire to expand and improve technology infrastructure throughout the district. Board member Carol Chellman said the Khan Academy presentation underscored the importance of providing the district with the technology it needs to help students succeed.Board members said Khan Academy was implemented at Dondero this year, and the principals at the city’s other elementary schools have expressed an interest in introducing the program to their students as well.Khan Academy is available from any computer with Internet access. For information, visit


10 Responses to “Basic Addition | Addition and subtraction | Khan Academy”

  1. Hayley April 12, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

    I agree with Gina. Not the most riveting display. I was curious, so I went to the website to take a look. It’s true, there are videos on just about anything and everything!
    I don’t think I would ever use this website as a resource in my classroom. In fact, I probably wouldn’t have used it when I was teaching fourth grade either. It was just like a class lecture. There’s no room to ask questions or manipulate the information. However, I do see the value. If I had known about this website when I was in high school I would have felt like I’d won the lottery. I think the video tutorials would be a great reteach opportunity. It would have been great to be able to watch some of those pre-calc videos over and over until I finally got it (I still don’t get it!). For students who need multiple exposures to a new concept, this would be great.
    At our grade level, it might be more beneficial to parents. Looking at the attached video and one or two others that seemed grade level appropriate, they wouldn’t add anything to my instruction. But, I don’t go home with my kiddos. The number of times I’ve heard parents ask for help with symmetry, fractions, etc. this may help them.

    • J. Andrew Bairstow April 12, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

      Welcome to both of you, Gina and Hayley. I’m glad to see you’ve joined in the conversation. I agree that “Sal” is a little bland.

      This concept is where the term flipped classroom comes into play. Students receive their lecture during their own time while answers are addressed by the trained teachers during class times. It makes education that much more efficient and puts more control of a students learning in the trained professional’s hands.
      It is tough to imagine this at our level. Obviously parent participation is absolutely necessary. It could also be good for enrichment opportunities, like what they are doing at the Dondero school.

    • Mary Lou Donahoe April 12, 2012 at 6:17 pm #

      Your post is very interesting Hailey. As a certified ESOL teacher I am sure you would agree the video posted in Drew’s blog is so slow it is helpful to those students who are Cognitively, linguistically challenged(CLD) and therefore is a good tool for them. I think your comment is based on your experiences teaching the monolingual students integrated in the cultural majority and your experience attending a private school in California during your high school years. I picked some videos and used them with some of my CLD students and actually it was helpful because it shows things in a methodically manner. I also think that was the objective in Portsmouth. They were reaching students who needed a slower explanation. At least, that’s what I liked about what I used. Concise and precise. Obviously I had to supplement, but the video gave a good preliminary explanation with addition.

  2. gina April 12, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    If we had full day kindergarten I would definitely show this video to students during nap time. Khan’s on par with Bob Ross and NPR!

    I think kinders would want and need to see a face to make the delivery more authentic.

    This video could be effective at whatever age a student is ready to move beyond the concrete. Very interesting- and good background, Maryann! thx

    • Mary Lou Donahoe April 12, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

      I agree with your Gina, but it is about being “open minded” and added instruction. Hence the success at the school in Portsmouth…

  3. Elisabeth White April 12, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

    What a wonderful article and website! This is exciting stuff- I remember being in school and staying before and after school when I didn’t understand a concept, but this website provides a great way for students to work at home as well practicing the same concepts (hopefully) with parent involvement. This looks like a great classroom help too for teachers to scaffold student learning when each child needs help with a different concept. Hopefully I can find something similar for my early childhood students (preschool/pre-k) when we get our long-awaited tablets!

  4. maryann boucher April 10, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    WE love KHAN Academy here at the Boucher house! I stumbled upon this website a few years ago when our Connor needed extra help in Pre- Algebra at Cawley. I had read an article about how Bill Gates was using it with his 11 year old son, So I thought if it works for Bill Gate’s son….I must try it with Connor. After seeing how straight forward each tutorial was- I shared the site with Becky Wing. I think she has posted it as a resource on the Cawley Website?

    http://www.khanacademy.org/talks-and-interviews/v/bill-gates-talks-about-the-khan-academy-at-aspen-ideas-festival-2010-

    I’m not sure I would share the addition tutorial with my kinders- it has a different flavor in a whole group setting. With that said, I will post the link on our classroom blog, I’m sure some of the Boucher Bunch families would like to explore the vast amount of math and other content presented.

    I like how Portsmouth is using this program to enhance student learning! Is Hooksett going to mirror this idea?

    • Mary Lou Donahoe April 10, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

      I liked the video very much. The information was presented in a simple manner and the visuals were helpful and presented in a child friendly manner. I definitely will use their resources in my class. Any student in K-2 can easily follow and understand the lesson. I also see great potential for these resources as a workshop math station because of the clear explanations and visual demonstration the students can follow the lesson on their own. I found the article by Joey Cresta about Portsmouth’s experience and results very informative. It appears as though using the Khan Academy resources has worked very well for them to enhance student’s learning. Definitely worth exploring. Seems to me including the Khan Academy resources to our instruction is a win win situation for all and the best of all…is free!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Khan and other Education “Revolutions” | RSS Poster Test - April 27, 2012

    […] Basic Addition | Addition and subtraction | Khan Academy (underhillschool.com) […]

  2. Khan and other Education “Revolutions” | disrupt learning! - April 10, 2012

    […] Basic Addition | Addition and subtraction | Khan Academy (underhillschool.com) […]

Leave a Reply

