Part 3 -15 Ways to be a Better Teacher – Ian Jukes

29 Nov

How often do we use the phrase, “Work smarter, not harder?” As we are in the midst of an educational revolution, it is clear that this phrase encapsulates our careers. While we straddle the blurred line between past, present and future pedagogy and methodology, we as educators must do a little bit of everything. It is hard work!

In Ian Jukes’s most recent post, he highlights 16 strategies teachers can use to guide themselves towards workplace efficiency. I will post one strategy each day for the next 16 days.

Enjoy!

Click Here for the Ian Jukes article – Part 3

One Response to “Part 3 -15 Ways to be a Better Teacher – Ian Jukes”

  1. mldonahoe December 2, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    I feel at Underhill all teachers do a very good job to create a very safe learning environment. I watch students at the end of the day when I am on bus duty and most students look super happy and walk out with their projects. I often wonder what does a safe environment looks like? Is it they are happy all day? Or they are challenged during the day? How does that challenging day looks like? I can only speak for myself. To me a safe environment is one that students feel safe to take risks. To answer the unthinkable answer, to take risks mispronouncing a word or saying “I don’t know” and not feeling they just are not making an effort. Sometimes students do not know. In my ESOL world I cannot take words for granted: To ask an student to “circle” may not yield a successful response. In my ESOL world I need to know first if the student understand what the world “circle” means before I can move forward. In doing so, I create a safe environment for my students by never assuming they understand what I mean, however simple the world seems to me.

Leave a Reply

